The Stillwater Fire Department is conducting free car seat inspections on Tuesday, Feb. 27 from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. Stillwater firefighters will examine car seats for proper installation and usage at SFDheadquarters at 1506 S. Main St.
Chief Tom Bradley said, “I am proud that the Stillwater Fire Department has the opportunity to educate residents about another service that we offer.”
There are also a limited number of car seats available for $10 for those who receive government assistance. To purchase one of these car seats, you must provide proof of government assistance and the child must be present or the expecting mother must be within two months of delivery. There is a limit of one seat per child and two seats per family.
SFD is partnering with Safe Kids Tulsa Area, The Children’s Hospital at Saint Francis and Oklahoma Highway Safety Office to host the Feb. 27 checkup.
According to the National Safety Council, vehicle collisions inflict 1,346 fatalities in children each year. The Oklahoma Highway Safety Office recorded 952 total vehicle collisions in Stillwater during 2015. This statistic resulted in a total of 2,078 citizens impacted, but only one fatality occurred.
Chief Bradley said, “Car seats are a simple device that can reduce the chance of injury greatly, but they must be properly used to have a positive effect.”
The SFD offers free installations and checkups year-round. To schedule a checkup, call Stillwater Fire Administration at 405.372.0516.
If you’re uncertain about the safety of your car seat here are some tips. Make sure children ride in the backseat away from airbags. When implementing a new car seat read the manual carefully, and always fasten the seat tightly.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 75 percent of child car seats are improperly installed. The NHTSA also found that the correct use of child protection devices in vehicles reduces risk of serious injury by up to 71 percent.
Oklahoma began enforcing a stricter set of child-passenger regulations in 2015. The new regulations require a booster seat to be used until the age of 8. The law also enforces regulation requiring children the age of 2 and younger to be seated in a rear facing car seat. Violation of this law results in a $50 fine, but other costs associated with the violation can raise the total to around $230.
For more information about this event, contact the Stillwater Fire Department Administration Office at 405.742.8308.