Stillwater FFA receives national honors

Story provided by Stillwater Public Schools

Stillwater Public Schools is proud to announce Stillwater FFA as one of the Top 10 National Models of Excellence Finalists. This puts the organization in the top 0.1% of the 8,995 FFA Programs in the United States. This is the second time for the program to receive this honor, having been named to the top ten in 2019. 

Additionally, Stillwater FFA was named a National 3 Star Chapter, the highest rating an FFA program can receive, and one of just ten FFA programs to be named a Premier Chapter for Building Communities. This honor recognizes ten programs nationwide that generate innovative ideas to build their communities. 

Two Stillwater students were also named as National Finalists with their Proficiency Award; they competed against state winners from across the nation and were named a Top 4 Finalist in their award area, where they will continue to compete. This category includes not only high school students, but also college freshman and sophomores. The students going on to representing Stillwater at the national level are:

  • Preslee Watley-Kindt – Agriscience Research Animal Systems
  • Rylee Gaches – Agriscience Research Plant Systems

Stillwater also had a school and state record of 15 projects between 22 students named National Finalists in the FFA Agriscience Fair, which includes the Top 10 in each research division. Each of these students will share their research on the national level with the hope of being a national champion. Those students include:

  • Tassi Fadely & Paityn Moulton  –  Animal Systems, Division 2
  • Kyriana Beard – Animal Systems, Division 3  
  • Adelynn Newport & Ella Warren – Animal Systems, Division 4 
  • Oakley Gross & Preslee Watley-Kindt – Animal Systems, Division 6  
  • Elle Yates – Env Serv & Nat Res, Division 5 
  • Emily Meridith & Emma Nelson – Env Serv & Nat Res, Division 6   
  • Esther VanOverbeke – Food Products & Process, Division 3 
  • Ryne Crosthwait – Food Products & Process, Division 5    
  • Abigail Burton – Plant Systems, Division 5           
  • Rylee Gaches and Emma Yates – Plant Systems, Division 6                 
  • Kaylee McAlister – Power/Structure/Tech, Division 5      
  • Eliana Timmons – Social Science, Division 1     
  • Lauren Crosthwait – Social Science, Division 3     
  • Gabe Campbell & Adria Spaulding – Social Science, Division 4         
  • Trinity Blosch & Aubrie McEndoo – Social Science, Division 6       

Stillwater FFA will head to Indianapolis in November for the National FFA Convention to compete as individuals and groups and in the hopes of being emerging as the the Top FFA Program in the nation.