Campbell named SPS Teacher of the Year 

Media Release

Highland Park Elementary School Pre-K Teacher Theresa Campbell has been selected as the Stillwater Public Schools District Teacher of the Year. 

Campbell is in her 22nd year of teaching at Highland Park, with one year of experience at a previous district. 

“She provides an excellent developmentally appropriate learning environment,” says Highland Park Principal Laura Gordon. “Theresa has a deep understanding of the social, emotional, and academic needs of four year olds – no small feat! She helps students learn to self-regulate and manage all the feelings and behaviors that come with being a four year old in school for the first time. Theresa is an excellent ambassador for Stillwater Public Schools!”

SPS announced the Teacher of the Year during a districtwide virtual ceremony honoring all school site teachers of the year and retiring teachers on April 20, but Interim Superintendent Gay Washington and a team of administrators arrived to deliver the news and prizes in person. 

“Theresa is an amazing educator and a quiet leader,” says Washington. “She has earned the greatest of respect, not only from those in her building, but across the district from her colleagues in early childhood. Hundreds and hundreds of kids have benefited from her instruction in those oh so important early years of their school careers.”

Campbell was selected for the honor by a group of her peers from three finalists. Other finalists were Lincoln Academy Mathematics Teacher Sally Buss and Sangre Ridge Reading Interventionist Abby Grantham.

Of the honor Campbell says, “SPS holds such a special place for me. It has always been known for excellence and is a system I am proud to be a part of. To teach with such amazing and supportive educators and friends and to be a part of the lives of children and families who have taught me so much is a blessing. I am both humbled and honored to be chosen to represent this district.”

Other SPS school site Teachers of the Year are: Sarah Pittman at Richmond, Casey Hansen at Skyline, Karyn Spencer at Will Rogers, Nicole Jarvis at Westwood, Carmen Ryan at Stillwater Pioneer Virtual Academy, Lynn Franzmann at the middle school, Heaven Meeks at the junior high, and Traci Richardson at Stillwater High School.

Campbell will go on to compete with teachers from across the state for the title of Oklahoma Teacher of the Year.